Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Ecological textile dyeing machine using local and recycled organic wastes
  • Hi everyone,

I am a textile engineer and I am working for a french local and ecological clothing brand. We are developing an open source technology for dyeing clothes with recycled materials such as avocado rinds, onion skins, carrot tops, flowershop wastes, tea and coffee wastes and, eventually, local plants.
    The environnemental impact of textile dye is pretty huge. If you want, you can check this infographic I am working on right now (based on world banks data) here.

We are now recycling organic materials from local business and reusing our dye bath and dye wastes for composting.
    We are currently doing this by hand-craft at a very small scale. But in order to do this faster and easier, and to help industry and textile workers to dye with local materials without spending too much energy, water and money I want to create a new ecological dyeing machine :

The machine i want to create should allow us to  :

-Deep in organic dye material (coffee, flower...) and extract dye by agitation (slow or fast) and heating (up to 80°)
    -Get rid of solids remaining with a simple filter so only the liquid dye remains in the Vat.
    -The cloth can be dyed for a long time (during days, at room temperature and with a slow agitation of the bath) or for a litlle time (up to 30 minutes, with temperature up 80° and with slow agitation of the bath too).
    -Deep in cloth or textiles in the slowly moving dye bath and eventually hot dye bath (for cold and long dyeing
    -To drain the dye bath in order to use it again later 

Here is a 3D Video of the machine : http://youtu.be/3BQ38YBOyuI