Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Microtrac Design
  • Hello, I am working on designing a prototype of the microtrac. I have basic knowledge of Sketchup but am planning to use this tool in a small farming operation. I hope to be working as an apprentice at FeF this summer and want to build a working prototype of Microtrac by the time I leave in fall.

I am currently researching the inner workings of the power cube and how to best incorporate its' advantage of hydraulic power while accounting for the weight of 400 lbs. The BCS walk behind tractor is only 250 lbs, and my farmer friend who uses it says it is hard to maneuver.

I would like to hear from anyone who has used the first prototype of the microtrac and/or anyone's thoughts on improvement.

How can we improve maneuverability, keep compactness, design for tight spots and sloped, treacherous ground?

Will new implements need to be created to fit a smaller quick attach plate?

I hear that the Microtrac prototype was hard to steady with the one wheeled design. I am thinking two small wheels, like the BCS walk behind tractor would be sufficient.

• 18 Comments sorted by
  • from what ive seen the powercube is pretty dam big, bulky and not designed to be totally versatile but in theory it can be made smaller.

however if one can get long enough hydraulic lines you can put the powercube next to your plot and just run the line across.
    i like the one wheel design, even better if you run with one powered wheel in the center, perfect balance and then running 2 smaller wheels like a childs bike with training wheels.