Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
For a high school engineering class - feasibility of putting together a Lifetrac
  • Hello,

I am a 12th grade student representing an engineering class at a high school in Los Angeles. My class has been inspired by the mission and apparent practicability of Open Source Ecology. For a final project- to be completed by August 2012- we would like to build a LifeTrac. Our class is led by a teacher with a B.S. in engineering from Caltech, however, no one among us has a welding license and we do not have a machine shop at our high school.

From the documentation I have gone through, and provided we raise the money necessary to buy materials, it seems like it would be possible to outsource the welding a metal drilling to machine shops, however, we recognize that we should find a place sympathetic to our cause. Do you all have ideas on how to go about this?

When complete, we would like to donate the LifeTrac to a worthy recipient (we are thinking about organic farms that host WWOOFers but there may be more worthy recipients). Of course with donation liability is a large issue, and one that I see is a topic of active discussion in the forums at this point.

My question is essentially do any of you have suggestions or recommendations about this plan before we start alienating parts suppliers and machine shops with too many questions. Heavy machinery is something that none of us have familiarity with, but it is something that we all want to become familiar with. In short, the motivation is here, and we will happily act on any advice that the community has.

Thanks,
    Hayden

Thanks guys,
    Hayden

Hayden and Daniel

• 23 Comments sorted by