Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Re: Web Infrastructure Forum writeable by team members
  • Since the forum was locked in the original thread, I just had a question. What is the definition of a contributor? As an engineer I may have a technical opinion on something in a pivotal project. Posting that in the forums would count as a contribution. This might be a specific component, and may consist of as little as one post.

I think the rationale for separating access like this is to separate the "talkers" from the "doers" so that the "doers" aren't hindered. In that case, these restricted subforums should not be related to entire projects, but to specific components of those projects, like team report-outs, action items, status updates, deliverables, etc. Things like designs, technology choices, and other high-level things should be open to everyone, because everyone is a potential contributor in that area, by the very fact of them posting.

One could already consider everyone who is on this forum as a "Level 1 contributor" or "contributor by default". The solar fire project thread is a good example. Under a completely closed project forum system, there either couldn't be such a discussion, or it would have to be done in general discussion. So perhaps a two-tiered access system would be best?

• 8 Comments sorted by