Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Stepper Motors
  • Vote Up0Vote Down
    mjnmjn

April 2011
    The CNC Torch Table and another CNC devices in the GVCS will all need stepper motors. The current plans call for using off-the-shelf motors, but eventually we will want to fabricate our how. I have started to collect information in http://openfarmtech.org/wiki/Open_Source_Stepper_Motor, but more work is needed. I have no experience with lathing or milling - which will be needed to fabricate a motor from scratch. I'd like to invite anyone reading this to contribute to the effort in terms of information gathered, personal experience, or other sources of knowledge (books, videos, etc.).

There are several kinds of stepper motors. It is not clear to me which type would be the best trade-off between fabrication simplicity and useful characteristics. What kind of stepper motor would you recommend for our first prototype?

- Mark J Norton

• 21 Comments sorted by
  • Forgive my ignorance, but I thought that DC servo motors were the correct choice in positioning applications where serious actuation force might be needed. Not true?

• Mark, are you still working on this? Do we have a plan for a motor controller yet? I think the motor controller is the first thing we need to get nailed down. From what I understand it will consist of a microcontroller and some power electronics. The microcontroller will need to implement a motor control program which can receive commands from a PC, I'm assuming. I'm also assuming it will be based off G code.

Is anyone else working on the controller currently?

• i sorta assume the reprap team has designed a microcontroller for their 3d printer but im not sure.