Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
[Wisconsin] I want to use the Liberator!!
  • Vote Up0Vote Down
    forestj

September 2013
    My name is Forest, I'm currently in southern Wisconsin, in my last semester of college.

I'm an accomplished programmer, and I've worked in the "industry" since I was 15. If you are interested in my professional background, see my linkedin page: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/forest-johnson/56/563/34a. 

TL;DR I have diverse experience ranging from educational games to tools & web development, and from professional office jobs to Open Source pajama programming.

I've been following OSE since the first TED talk, and I'm really interested in what OSE offers because when I think about what society expects of me, to get a professional office job and buy a house and a car, I feel sick to my stomach. I never liked working in offices that much, and I find the popular culture of coercion and consumption very uncomfortable. So I'm looking for an alternative.

I've been living in dorms and co-operative houses for about 4 years, and I don't want to stop after college. I'm trying to make plans for my future, and I think starting a co-op might be the best solution. I'm interested in green building designs, passive solar, CEB construction, and community oriented design.

I've been studying architecture, of the Earthship design, Mike Oehler's underground houses, and computerized HVAC in contemporary buildings, and I've come up with a few sketches. So far, I've got a semi-buried multi-unit south facing "row house" design. Bargain version of the Earthship, designed around OSE tools and communal living.