Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Andres Botran - productivity of rural farmers in Guatemala
  • Andres Botran wrote:

Sirs,
    I am the first Secretary of Food Security of Guatemala.  I am an engineer and am very concerned about the issues you raise. I now am the president of a sugar processing plant in Guatemala so we are constantly working and repairing equipment.  In Spanish, a sugar processing plant is called a "ingenio" which in Spanish means ingenious.  We have more than 60 engineers at my ingenio.  We have a collection of: chemical, mechanical, industrial, electrical, systems, computer, agricultural, civil, materials engineers.  We have built the sugar industry in Guatemala by buying surplus and obsolete parts of old mills in other countries and tweaked them into production.  We are EXTREMELY GOOD at modifying existing tools and machines to make them work for us.  In short, we have a ton of academic and practical experience.  We also have machinery, tools, etc.  We have tons of scrap metal.  And now we have your plans.

Five years ago, I was the first secretary of the SESAN (Secretary of Food Security of Guatemala), a cabinet level position during President Berger´s government.  Even though I am now running my company, I am extremely concerned about our food insecurity and lack of productivity of our rural farmers.  They don´t have the resources to be more productive since they basically only have hand tools.