Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Designing a village prototype

• First of all I would like to shortly introduce myself, my name is Christof and I am studying architecture. I found your project a year ago and i must say I like the idea of the GVCS. I am in my last semester and I have just started to work on my Bachelor Thesis.

My topic is about autonomous villages and my aim is to develop a prototype village, which is able to function on its own. It should become a resilient system with no dependence on the current society, producing its own food, building its own houses with natural material and a different economic approach etc. I am doing this work in collaboration with a friend who is writing right now his thesis about the same topic, but more about the economic and organizational aspects, which would be necessary to build that kind of intentional community. The theoretic bases and many initiatives (examples include: subsistence, collaborative consumption, cradle to cradle, cultural creative, ecovillages, open source ecology, etc.) are planned to be integrated.