Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
OSE Battery
  • considering the GVCS machine development plan this year, wouldn't it be more urgent to develop the battery sooner rather than later. Considering the cost of solar panels have come down to $1 per Watt from $20 per Watt 5 years ago, the only component of a off grid power system that hasn't reduced in price are batteries. As a potential larger market to fund further GVCS machines, developing a competitive large capacity non polluting battery would seem a more speeder way to achieve the funding goals.

the ridiculous cost of batteries is the only thing preventing me and i assume others from going off grid. 

• 24 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up0Vote Down February 2013
    I'm new at opensourceecology and I want to ask what the project status of the OSE Battery is?

• Vote Up0Vote Down
    4ndy4ndy

February 2013
    TonyFord: the Nickel Iron battery is currently under research. Probably needs more attention from chemical & electrical engineers.

• In the Nickel-iron battery, is the energy stored in the metal plates, or in the electrolyte solution? To expand the battery capacity, do you add more metal or add more liquid? I'm a bit confused as to where and how the energy is actually stored.

• Please just watch this video and wonder at how close we are to cheap diy batteries:

Well worth the 5m

• Aaron, see their latest paper, where they not only detailed a scalable production process, but analysed the electrical properties of their 'Laser-Scribed Graphene Micro-SuperCapacitors using different coatings and electrolyte gels.