Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
André from Denmark - thesis on Open Source Hardware development platform
  • André Hansen wrote:

Hello

First off all. Great works you guys have been doing on the GVCS. One
    of most ambitious open design project I have seen so far.
    I see that you are part of the collab dev platform team. However, it
    seems as if the discussions on the forum stopped in june 2011. Are you
    still working on it?

I am a engineering student from Denmark working on my thesis on Open
    Source Hardware development. I am trying to conceptualise a
    development platform for the need of open source hardware projects. To
    really simplify it - Github.com for open soure hardware. ( I have
    attached the introduction for my project description at the bottom of
    this mail )

I would really appreciate if you took some time to answer some quick questions.
    Maybe do a quick skype chat? Or would you prefer mail?

Some opening questions to let you now what I am after:
    At first sight it looks as if most of the actual product development
    takes place at the farm. It looks as if there are more than 100 active
    members but how many of these are actually taking part in the product
    development? I haven't been able to get my head around how you guys
    handle your design files. I read something about open pario but not
    much activities there. The only CAD files i have been able to find is
    sketchup. Are you really only using this?

Hope to hear from you. It would mean a lot. If you don't have time
    could you then please put me in contact with someone ells?
    Thank you

--
    Venlig Hilsen / Regards

André Hansen
    København Ø

• 2 Comments sorted by
  • Introduction