Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Proposal: Phase II for Open Source Ecology's online app
  • Hi Guys,

My name is Boris, and I'm a front end web dev. I had an idea very similar to OpenSourceEcology, and while researching existing solutions I found your incredible project. I think you have a great idea going here, but I think that there is still a lot of untapped potential. As you're aware, open sourcing technology has the potential to completely route around corporate manufacturers, and put the means of production directly in the hands of consumers. As you're also aware, some major impediments are the lack of technical know-how on the part of the audiences whom this would benefit this most (people in 3rd world countries, low income households), as well as the lack of a truly large scale, organized community. I’d like to work to tackle the second issue.

The fragmented nature of similar projects certainly doesn’t help either. Ventures like Thingiverse and Open Innovation Projects seem to offer similar features to your site (though with a focus on less significant products), making finding particular schematics a more difficult problem than it should be.