Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
CAD Standards Group
  • 64 Comments sorted by
  • I'm a proffesional CAD designer and I work with AutoCAD. But that is my day job not my passion. I'm also a Linux user and would love to see freeCAD used. I've used Draftsight and I think it is a fantastic tool for 2d. Really in the end I think the output format is all that really matters.

What I would like to see is:

1) PDF as output
    2) A standard title block format
    3) A dimensioning unit standard

What these are matters much less than just having something agreed apon so we don't make confusing drawings.

The rest I think is much less important and could be tackled as problems arise.

• AndrewBuck wrote

As far as units and the dimensions of piping/angle iron/flat iron used to build the models, we should make a page on the wiki with common standard and metric sizes of each type of thing as well as sourcing and pricing info. Then we restrict ourselves to building models only using parts from one list or the other

Well, I think it might be a good idea to create standards for material and tools, and I think its an urgent task now, before too many designs have been finished, using too many different pipes, flats, bore diameters and screws/nuts/bolts. Remember, easy and cheap replicating of designs is only possible when you don't need a fleet of expensive tools. Also, if one day producing own materials is working in OSE, how can that work if we need to fabricate thousands of dimensions of flats, rounds, pipes etc.