Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Open Source Bicycle
  • Hi. I'm a bicycle mechanic and an avid cyclist and I think an open source bicycle could be a very powerful tool for any individual. I work at a bike shop and the price of purchasing and maintaining a bicycle can seriously add up over time. If an open source bicycle where to exist I think it would empower a great deal of people to build, maintain, and achieve an in depth understanding of their bikes. Furthermore it would allow any able bodied person the ability to travel efficiently with nothing more than their bike and the strength of their own two legs. Let me know what you think.

• 14 Comments sorted by
  • Ben, I think the conventional bicycle - and by now a good number of unconventional ones - represents technology that has been thoroughly vernacularized over more than a century. It is pretty much open-source already!

In fact, the mix-and-match nature of a bicycle is something worth studying for other projects. Designers are too blindly wedded to the idiom of the modern product, which has been developed expressly around the closure (indeed, the enclosure) of sources, and therefore design products around sets of complex, exclusive, over-critical component interfaces.

Take the example of car headlights. Before c.1932 the norm was for headlights to be mounted either to a horizontal bar or to pedestals on the frame horns. This allowed a very wide variety of headlight configurations to be applied to any given design. The component designer did not have to deal with any but the simplest mounting detail, and thus a wealth of design responses is stimulated. This is a quality that survives in the basic bicycle. One might say that it is stigmergically open.