Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Open Source Projector - to project screens/videos in villages setting
  • Hello folks,

I am a newbie here, with a suggestion.

I spoke to some people who work in early literacy in villages, and the most expensive thing for them is a projector.
    They use it to show videos regarding hygiene, etc.

This is a community of great thinkers and builders, and I searched if you have designed a projector, but could not find anything.
    So, here is my initial requirements ( I have absolutely no idea if this will work ):

* The projector does not have to be compact, but it needs to have wheels or some mechanism to move it from place to place ( or be able to broken down after the show )
    They are generally tied to the bicycles behind the driver seat; so it cannot be extremely large as well.
    * The projection light source should be easily available and cheap and should not take up much battery.
    * It should work on rechargeable batteries that allow it to play video upto 1 hour, or solar ( battery needed, because this is played at night ) -- electricity will not be available; car battery too expensive option in asian villages; or it can run off a small inverter.
    * The screen will be a white cotton cloth that is held scaffolded; cannot assume the existence of white walls; this design can also be planned; at the end of the show, the cloth can be folded and put away. Similarly with the scaffolding sticks
    * If the projector can be built as parts that can be quickly assembled on the scene and later broken down for storage/carrying, it would be great. Allows carrying this from different places.
    * The projector lens should be cheap, and if possible, reused from some other product.