Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
  • My name is Ben and I'm an avid supporter of the open source model. I am a boilermaker by trade with interest in every construction trade. I have good general knowledge of I.T. side of things. I have had a growing interest of late in getting the knowledge and hands on experience in self sufficient sustainable living practices and in particular, solar energy uses including alcohol fuel production. I live on a 320 acre block in the north west area of the Sydney Basin (Watagan forest) in NSW, Australia. I first became aware of OSE from the movie Owned and Operated, which I watched maybe 12 months ago.

I've been working my trade for several years now for many companies. I am interested in starting my own shop now, here in the bush. So step one is to build a fabrication shop that I can store heavy machinery, fabricate anything and be able to store lots of raw materials (steel racks). I have found a location and am currently working on a 3d model of the freestanding shop design in Inventor. It will have a very large main beam which will span 28m and hold a couple of 2t cranes and a counterbalanced roof covering half of the beam length. I might start a blog when I figure out the rest of the site.