Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Hello From Malmö, Sweden
  • Thanks for starting the community! 

My wife is Norwegian and I am American, we decided to move to Sweden after the real estate crash in the US. Sweden provides us with a good base of operations in terms of being close to continental Europe and our family in Norway. The kids go to an International school and we are likely to be here a few more years until we can embark on the next adventure in our lives. 

Professionally my background is mainly as a trader either in real estate or various financial instruments. In other words, most of my career I have benefited financially from moving assets back and forth and pocketing the difference. However, during that career I have not created any real wealth rather just helped to further the indebtedness of fellow members of my community and nation. Its people like me who are responsible for the 150 Trillion dollars in derivatives floating out there and the upcoming financial crashes that will harm everyday people much more so than those responsible for it. 

My wife is an expert in designing factories and production lines to be efficient. At one point in her career she worked for the Electric Vehicle manufacturer Th!nk in Norway. Th!nk was bought out by Ford for about $40 million US, another 100 million was invested...at the same time the auto companies were fighting the Zero Emissions laws in California and New York. The AutoAttorney's won, and Th!nk was sold to a Swiss holding company for $1 dollar. That story basically sums up environmental leadership in large scale corporate America, imho.