Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
3D model for CNC Circuit Mill - feedback needed
  • Yoonseo Kang wrote:

I'm developing a CNC Circuit Mill with OSE- would appreciate feedback
    on my simple 3D model for prototype 2.

Initially took pointers from Snaplock:
    http://mtm.cba.mit.edu/machines/mtm_snap-lock/

This was prototype 1 completed:
    http://blog.opensourceecology.org/2012/02/cnc-circuit-mill-prototype-1-complete/

Now this is what I'm thinking of making, but I might have missed
    critical points:
    http://opensourceecology.org/wiki/CNCCMV2#CAD

Thanks in advance, I appreciate all your help!

• 3 Comments sorted by
  • What accuracy's/ tolerances do you need to meet for circuitry? I have no experience in electronics but I do in machining and if I knew more about the kind of specifications you need to meet I could offer advice on what kind of parts to use and what level of precision is needed for parts.

• i dont know for sure but in the past designs were made at around 1/1000 of an inch resolution but usually the gaps between circuit leads is pretty generous so you could probly get by with a little less percision. would that sorta be written +-0.001 ? what would +-0.005 equate to? i dont know muh about it.

• First to answer your question the tolerance of a 1/1000 of  an inch  would be written as +-0.001 and +-0.005 would a half thousamth of an inch.