Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
  • Vote Up0Vote Down
    HansHans

February 2011
    Hello,

I live in Bellingham Washington, United States of America.  I found this site through the 2 min infomercial posted on the Transition Whatcom site. I am a true fan.

Is a pocket watch alive? What is life? What is a machine? Energy, Information, Material, Time?

I am looking for empowerment from the Open Source Ecology movement. Like superman, I want to punch holes in steal. I plan to start a local chapter here in Bellingham. I have a dual degree in science and art. I own and operate a restaurant and a toy store. My recent interests revolve around industrial ecology, organizational development, and internet communication.

I have chosen to join forces with OSE, because the movement mirrors a very similar vision naturally emerging from my heart.  OSE also fits well in the logic of my education. Currently, I am in big picture mode; bouncing around the site, reading books about the open source software movement, organizational development, and industrial ecology. The improvements to the site are wicked good.  Cheers!

-Hans

• 2 Comments sorted by
  • Cheers from a fellow Washington resident! I'm located in Kent, also interested in starting/participating in a Seattle area chapter. I have housing, shop space, farmland, and garage space currently available. But right now I'm just networking. Keep fighting the good fight!

• I also live in Bellingham and am a student at Bellingham Technical College(Machining Program). I would been very interested in helping you get this off the ground and can help you get in touch with some of the local farming co-operatives.

PM me if you are interested in collaberating.

Howdy, Stranger!