Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Hey Hey - I do UI / UX / Semantic Web Integration
  • Hi Friends

I'm a programmer interested in helping with the open source ecology project.  I've spent the last few years working as the lead programmer for one of the top web development studios in Maine and am now looking for a way to apply my skills toward sustainability.  You all seem like a good crew of seriously gifted people who've come up with some really interesting ways to use your brains to help our planet, and i think I'd learn a lot and have a bunch to contribute.

Here is my skill-set:

front-end: i'm no graphic designer, but i can slice and dice any png /psd design file into cross-browser compatible css / html / jquery, and am super comfortable doing basic layout tasks in fireworks.  i built the front-end (both the browser-side and email-side) of www.villagevines.com - which has 120k+ members.  to be honest, this is the work i find the least interesting, but it's often the most useful and i really don't mind doing it, especially when it's for a good cause.

back-end: i like lamp systems a lot.  i'm decent in the shell and am familiar with svn / git, can handle basic htaccess / server config stuff and can do most sql stuff - multi-table queries sometimes take me a bit to word correctly.  i like scripting my servers in php - and have done a lot with joomla and code igniter and somewhat less with wordpress and drupal, but i can usually make good sense out of most mvc-driven app-development frameworks.  i built these:

www.mainemademaplesyrup.com / www.ogden-media.com / www.level8ds.com.