Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Building a Microtrac
  • I am intrigued by the possibility of building a Microtrac and my mother is intrigued by the possibility of using one - it would provide a great power equipment for use on her small-scale 5 acre significantly sloped property here for moving things around, tilling, and doing some light excavating.  

We have a source on an engine for fairly cheap, this model:

Which I think could provide the power we need. 

I am a handy person (as is my mother, she's just a little old lady whose aspirations are larger than her physical power).  I am quite mechanical and don't mind figuring things out to build them.  My primary market skill is as a software engineer, but I'm also an amateur carpenter, electrician, plumber, and mechanic with some experience in all. I haven't built anything quite like this before, though, and could use some mentoring.

My mom's place happens to be in Cameron, MO not distant at all, I understand, from the FactorE Farm!

So is there a working model of the Microtrac already, or would I be the first physical incarnation?

So I am looking for drawings/plans/specifications for the power cube physical interface, and of course the frame and such pattern for the main structure of the unit as well.  Thoughts?

• 3 Comments sorted by
  • Hello again.  That info might be hard to find just now.  I will see if I can point you in the right direction.  As for support, you can count on that.

I have personally watched a video of one being used so I'm sure it exists.  Starting with a Power Cube would be a good idea.

Maybe Vann or Chris can confirm one actually exists on the Farm.  You being so close could go over and take it for a spin.

The Dawg