Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Can I donate in Bitcoins?
  • Hi, I'm new to the scene and am excited to support your work. Some day, I hope to have my own land and a space to call my own. For now, I am a city dweller making a living and have a little to spare. I was wondering if I can donate $30 to the cause using bitcoin (the new cryptographic electronic currency)?

• 8 Comments sorted by
  • i've read about bitcoin on here before. not sure what the offiical policy is.

• Based on what I've read on the donations page, it seems to be a privately held account (as opposed to, say a non-profit org) at the moment. I assume it would take someone like Marcin to make the call to accept other forms of donations?

• thats my understanding, yup

• Currently no. I am not aware of the project using alternative currencies.

• Hopefully OSE will be getting Non-Profit status soon. Then I and many others will feel better that their donations are going to be used properly. I'm frankly a little concerned with the lack of transparency. For example, there are ~300 true fans now. That's $3000 a month if they are all at the basic level. Where is all this money going?