Visit the forum instructions to learn how to post to the forum, enable email notifications, subscribe to a category to receive emails when there are new discussions (like a mailing list), bookmark discussions and to see other tips to get the most out of our forum!
Hello from Kauai
  • Hi. My name is Tom Cobb. I live on the island of Kauai. Until recently, I was a programmer for Cisco Systems, working remotely from my house. A group of four - my wife, two friends and myself - own a small piece of truly amazing sacred land. I became aware of OSE through Marcin's TED talk. At that time I already knew about FabLabs through former Cisco colleagues working with the Center for Bits and Atoms at MIT, and had been in conversation with various folks in the Fab Lab network about bringing one to Kauai. OSE seems to me the next logical evolutionary step from Fab Lab. I am extremely interested in bringing an OSE facility to Kauai. I would very much appreciate a conversation with others who have done this.

My wife is a composer of sacred music. What started as a public performance of her work "Goddess Chant" has naturally evolved into a "Temple Of the New Earth"(http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=112853515426581). Think of it as Open Source Sacred Music. As part of that, we are also hosting open community councils where all are welcomed to share their wisdom. Therefore, in addition open source farming, I am also very interested in open source art and open source politics.

We moved to Kauai from the area of Boston when my wife became ill with serious neurological disorders. We were seeking a place conducive to healing and I believe that Kauai is that place for us. Therefore, I am also extremely interested in open source healing. I believe that all of these things go together and are part of a physical, technological, cultural and spiritual ecosystem.